Skip links

Glaucoma Awareness Week 2022: Meaning, Types and Control Of Glaucoma

What is Glaucoma?

Popularly referred to as the silent thief of sight, glaucoma is an eye disease that damages the optic nerves, leading to partial, sometimes permanent blindness.

To explain this a in medical terms, an optometrist with Afriglobal Medicare, defines the condition thus:

          “A condition of the optical nerve characterised by the loss of retinal nerve fibres with a corresponding visual field defect of which a raise in intraocular pressure is a risk.”

Dr Efosa Airen

Thus, dispelling the popular myth that glaucoma causes only by the buildup of excessive pressure inside the eyes.


Types Of Glaucoma

1.Primary Glaucoma

Primary glaucoma is the type of glaucoma or vision loss whose manifestation is not a result of any known conditions. The categories of primary glaucoma are as follows:

  1. Open Angle
  2. Closed Angle
  3. Normal-tension

2. Secondary Glaucoma

Secondary glaucoma is associated with known predisposing events, including but not limited to eye trauma, drugs, developmental abnormalities, and systemic diseases.

3. Congenital Glaucoma

Congenital glaucoma is the type of disease caused by a malformation of genetics and this kind of glaucoma manifests as a developmental disease, affecting mostly children from birth.


1. Blurred Vision.

2. Blind spots.

3. Headaches.

4. Eye pain, eye twitching, or redness.

5. Nausea and vomiting.

Note: Glaucoma presents no symptom until the nerve fibres are already suffering damage. Therefore, when a patient is experiencing any of these symptoms, they are most likely already suffering some vision loss. Whether or not it is severe.


An optometrist carries out a examination using any or a combination of the following tests:

1. Fundus photography: This involves photographing the interior of the eyes through the pupil with a device called the Fundus Camera. The goal of a fundus photography test is to record the retina’s appearance and also the visual defects. This test helps optometrist to check the initial condition of glaucoma

2. Tonometry test: This test determines the fluid pressure inside the eyes using a tool called a Tonometer.

3. Optical Coherence Tomography (OCT): Unlike the Fundus photography test, OCT is a non-invasive imaging testing method used to capture a picture cross-section of the retina.

4. Confrontation Visual Field test (CVF): This is simply a timely and also straightforward test. The CVF is a monocular test that measures central and peripheral vision.

In carrying out the CVF test, your ophthalmologist will also have you look directly at particular targets chosen by them.

5. Central Cornea Thickness (CCT) Test:

Also known as a pachymetry test, a CCT test measures the thickness of the cornea to provide your doctor with your Intra-Ocular Pressure (IOP) reading.

6. Slit-lamp exam: A slit lamp is a microscope with a bright light used during an eye exam. During a slit lamp test, your ophthalmologist sits facing you and uses the bright light from the slit lamp to examine your eyes.

7. Gonioscopy test: Gonioscopy is a test to evaluate the internal drainage system of the eyes. The test informs and helps you avoid a situation of improper drainage. In such case, pressure can build inside the eyes and can cause damage.


There is no known treatment for glaucoma, only regular examination (at least once every year) and control exist, and even this is dependent upon early detection.

However, the following have been quite effective at controlling this disease:

1. Eye drops.

2. Oral medication.

3. Laser treatment.

4. Surgery (for advanced cases).

In celebration of the 2022 Glaucoma Awareness Week , we are pledged to drive awareness about this disease. Afriglobal Medicare is offering a 45% discount on all glaucoma examinations. Avail this offer and get the glaucoma examination. This test consists of 5 Tests – the CVF, CCT, OCT, and Fundus photography. This test includes the Intraocular pressure tests,.

To grab this offer pay here and book your test on or before the 12th of March, 2022. Also, note that the tests have 1-month validity after booking and payment.

Liked reading this blog? Don’t forget to share a link to this blog post with friends, colleagues and also family, to help us raise more awareness for glaucoma. Learn more of the vital test types you should carry out regularly here.

Leave a comment